removing buff scratches in 160 gallon???

SalteeDogg

Reefing newb
Tank has buff scratches from a towel trying to scrub haze off glass. You cannot feel these scratches with you fingernail what so ever. I have purchased some cerium oxide which is suppose to remove haze and scratches and wasn't familiar with how to use it? I tried it with a very soft buffer pad and I think the pad is too soft. Has anyone done this before? I can see im making progress but there has to be a faster way. Any advice would help. Thanks

Wow no responses yet. I'm sure someone will respond soon. It's hard to stump this panel. I have no experience in this area sorry. :dunno:

well I finally learned how to do something new that I never knew how to do before. I tried buffing out the scratches with cerium oxide and it just wasn't giving me the results I wanted. I then bought some fine grit sand paper for the end of my drill and I started sanding. The glass turned hazed immediately after sanding and I had never been so scared in my life. Before I started there was scratches ever 1/2", so bad that the tank was probably trash unless someone put alot of time and knowledge into this repair. I called glass scratch repair companies and they quoted me around $1200!!!!!! cause of the locating of scratches. Alot of companies even said the glass was ruined and that there was no hope. Well after getting the glass sanded down to no scratches, I buffed out the haze with cerium oxide. My tank now looks like a brand new tank with not a single scratch..For those of you with scratches and think your tank is ruined, there is a way to remove them, I removed all mine and now looks brand new!

Yeah but the pictures don't do the damage justice, tank was alot worse then what the pictures show. I will upload them once I get home from work.

I bought a pound of cerium oxide about 2yrs ago. I have a 90G Oceanic that's scratched on all 4 sides. Looks like some jackass took steel wool to it.