first timer here

Jhoek18

Reefing newb
Hello everyone. I am new to the saltwater world. I bought a 55 gallon tank and dry rock. I set it up this past weekend. I used 40 pounds of CaribSea live sand and Instant Ocean salt. Im running a sunsun canister filter and about to buy a coralife super skimmer (not sure if its good but has good reviews)... My mind is in a million different directions on this cycling process. Everywhere i look everyone has different opinions on what to do. So im probably about to ask some stupid questions.

Water change:
some people say 50% weekly some people say 20% week and some say dont do any water change. so what is the correct procedure here? If no water change then do i do a water change before i add fish? after tank is established i was reading 15% water change monthly?

Lighting:
Im not that it really matters to much but i know some people say no lights on and some even say cover the tank.

After the cycling process i add some sails and hermit crabs and shrimp to clean the tank from the cycle (im assuming the tank will be pretty nasty?) how long after i add the CUC can i add fish and does it matter if i fish or coral first? Sorry to a bunch of dumb questions i just want to make sure i do it right and not someone shortcut way. I mean fill the tank up with water and wait 4-6 weeks for everything to read zero sounds to easy. Thanks in advance. Im sure ill have some more questions after the cycle lol.

Hi and Welcome to Living Reefs! Let me see if I can help you out with these questions.