help : Resun SK-05 Protein Skimmer

mhke

Reefing newb
hi guys, im a newbie with saltwater aquarium.. just 2 days ago, i set up my 35g aquarium, put in it 8kilos of live rocks, 10 kilos of sand, and 8 damselfish.. also purchased a RESUN SK-05 Skimmer, my problem is, i dont really know how high or where inside the tank should i put the skimmer, when i installed it, it doesn't produce foams (dirty bubbles?) in the top container, was it because it only operated in 3 days? if so, how long does it take for a skimmer to produce those dirty bubbles? hope someone can shed light on this matter.. thanks guys.:Cheers:.

btw... anyone here from the Philippines.:question:

Hi and welcome! Before we discuss the protein skimmer, I suggest you remove the damsels. They are probably just going to die. You don't need the fish to cycle the tank, the live rock will cycle it just fine. And if the damsels do live through the cycle, they will end up killing each other. They are very territorial and aggressive fish, and they'll also kill any other fish you try to add to the tank.

In a tank that size, you are limited to keeping 3 or 4 fish maximum.

Now about your skimmer. All skimmers go through what is called a "break in period". It can take several days to several weeks for the skimmer to start working. It's normal for it not to produce skimmate when you first set it up. Also, if you just set the tank up, there's nothing dirty in the water for it to pull out. Once your tank starts cycling, it will start pulling stuff out.

wow thanks mam bifferwine for the quick reply, so what i have to do now is remove the damsels first, my problem is where to put them.:(..for the store where i bought them is quite far from my place...and i dont know anyone from around here in my place that have a saltwater set up.. well i guess i just have to return them to the store where i bought them..and probably trade the fish for live rocks..:)