Leopard Wrasse

Picasso

Seahorse Whisperer
So I decided that my husband can pick the fish in my 30 gallon bow-front tank. I told him it needs to be a marine fish that is reef safe. It can be aggressive if he wants because it's the only fish in there. He's looking at the Leopard Wrasse but it says "Expert Only" on the liveaquaria site, why is it difficult? https://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=15+1378+339&pcatid=339

He wants a "fish with a face" whatever that means. He really likes the puffer fishes but they aren't reef safe. Any suggestions? Right now the tank has a bunch of live rock, a couple cleaner shrimp, some snails and hermits, a few 'shrooms and some macro. I love the idea of sexy shrimp so I'm planning on getting a few of those.

thanks,
Catherine

I have a Leopard Wrasse, and I'm FAR from an expert! :) I guess they can be difficult to feed at first...mine wasn't. I just soaked his food in garlic and he went right for it. He is a big jumper! Going to need a cover or crate or something...

Yeah,IDK,from what i understand they are hard to acclimate and feed at first....Plus a 30 gallon may be abit tight for him.I have always liked the mystery wrasse,they are perfect for smaller set-ups,and they have a great face..lol

That's a gorgeous wrasse. I have yet to see one in any local stores. I'm so jealous that you're are able to buy online in the US, much better selection and prices.

I don't consider them expert only, you just have to pay attention to it, that's all...I would suggest a small foxface, I'm sure your husband would love one of those, but a 30 might be too small.

The main reason for the " Expert" rating on the Leopard Wrasse,is because they can be hard to get to eat.But once they've taken to frozen foods,their no harder to keep than any other wrasse.