new reef aquarium

maccawc

Reefing newb
good evening. i am planning to build a marine aquarium i found a modern one the really in love with it but i have 2 doubt thing 1 they don't have a sump so i need to make external filter and external skimmer the size of the tank is 120x40x50 2 thing that he only have 4 t5 39 watt is that good for corals for soft coral i read you dont need to much light but for hard coral is that good? sry but i am new to marine aquarium. any suggestion will be appreciate

thanks

I'm not sure if just the T5s will do it for hard corals they do demand a lot of light. Hope someone with experience on this can answer your question. Good luck!

t5 generally arent a coral grower. At all. If it is a FOWLR (Fish Only With Live Rock) it would be fine because fish really dont discriminate on light. Traditionally people go with metal halide for lights, however there has been a growing movement into LED lights. Secondly there is an entire possibility that instead of running it with a sumo he was running it with canister filters. Not a good choice for saltwater aquariums but ok for freshwater. Was this thing existing as a salt system before you bought it?

t5 generally arent a coral grower. At all. If it is a FOWLR (Fish Only With Live Rock) it would be fine because fish really dont discriminate on light. Traditionally people go with metal halide for lights, however there has been a growing movement into LED lights. Secondly there is an entire possibility that instead of running it with a sumo he was running it with canister filters. Not a good choice for saltwater aquariums but ok for freshwater. Was this thing existing as a salt system before you bought it?
I have T5 and have amazing growth & colour on ALL my corals. I have approx 35 and have never lost 1. T5 is fine !!!!!!