New to Reef Tanks - Green Hair Algae and Red Slime Algae

Laurenel

Reefing newb
Hi, I'm new to Saltwater Reef Tank owning and I have a massive issue with green hair algae and an occasional issue with red slime algae in my tank. It is all over my live rock and back wall. Every time I do a water change (once a week) I take a toothbrush and scrub it off the rock and try to siphon as much of it out as I can. However it doesn't seem to go away.

I have a 29 gallon nano tank with 2 mexican turbo snails, 5 nassarius snails, and a handful of cerinth snails. I also have a diamond goby, a 6 line wrass, a purple fire fish, and a royal gama. I have a few, maybe 3 left, blue legged hermit crabs and a peppermint cleaner shrimp. I also have an orange sea cucumber.

I have an MP10 to help with water circulation and a protein skimmer. I also have a UV light filter to help kill algae in the water.

What else can I do to help get rid of this algae? Is there any other creature I could add to the tank to help eliminate it?

One of the sites I order fish from has a sale on 50 Snail Cleanup Crew (20 Nassarius, 20 Cerith, 5 Nerite, and 5 turbo). Would this overload my tank since it is only 29 gallons?

Desperately in need of help. Thanks.

Lisa.

Your best bet is to get to the root of the problem (find out what's causing your algae) instead of adding more animals to eat it.

What are your water parameters? What kind of water do you use (tap or RODI)? How big are your water changes?

How much and how often and what type of food do you feed?

I am currently using RODI water that is premixed at my LFS. I change out about 5 gallons each time I do a water change.

I am feeding about half a cube of frozen Mysis shrimp that I defrost overnight and then wash in RODI water.

I am embarrassed to say that I'm not sure what the parameters are. I have not tested the tank for a bit. My husband set up some sensors for pH, temp, and OPR. None of the alarms have gone off on it.