Some general questions

jillandjerrykeller

Reefing newb
We inherited a 55 gallon salt water tank from my sister in law who was not able to care for it anymore. Only one of her fish survived the transer (Clown fish named Nemo). We have live rock and live sand. We've had it for about 2 months and have now: The clown fist, two blue chromis, one peppermint shrimp, two sea stars (one black and spiney and one light maroon) and a purple/pink fish I don't remember what it's called but doing well and not aggressive. We also have two anenomes. They are doing okay but I do have some concerns because the one shrinks up alot but then comes back to life. I'm very new to this. I hope that we haven't added too much too fast in the way of livestock, but our water quality is good (I've taken it to be tested a bunch) and everyone seems to be doing well. I like the anenomes and would like to have more but I'm not sure if we have room for much more. If so, what would be a good fit, either in the way of bottom crawlers or maybe another fish or two? I'm looking for tips and suggestions. I also think that we may have some "red slime". Is that good or bad? Do I need to medicate to reduce it? Thanks to anyone for their tips.

First off,Welcome to the site.
What type and how much lighting do you have?Anemones require more light than most corals do,plus need extremely stable tanks.Every once in a while,they will decide to move to another location in the tank.And when they do,usually,any coral they brush against will die.Not to mention,If the anemone dies,there is the possability that it'll take everything in the tank right along with it.
The red slime is cyanobacteria.Its fed by high nitrates and/or phosphates.Neither of which is something you want.Instead of "medicateing"the tank.I'd suggest leaving the lights off for 3 or 4 days,then doing a decent water change the day you turn them back on.