Wanting to upgrade lighting

ErinCahir

Sausage Wrangler
So I've tried to look into this myself, and quite frankly it's making my brain hurt.
I know it's 4-8w/gallon. And I've heard we should be on the higher side of that since our tank is deep. I got all caught up in T-5, T-2, MH... whatever. Like I said... brain hurts.

We have a 150 gallon. It's 24"W, 48"L and 30"D.
We (obviously) want it for a reef tank.
Help!! Thanks!

Its interesting to read the reviews on the Odyssea Units, Here's one in particular:

I have been using this light for 1 1/2 years so far and it works great. I heard alot of complaints about that mh ballasts dieing so i decided to open them up and see what they were made of.... the only thing i could see why these are dieing is that they have cheap Aishi capacitors in them so i replaced them with some nichicon capacitors. but all in all this is a good light as long as you keep up with maintenance.

Good to know there's people who try to pick apart and pinpoint these issues, it's really good info.

Thanks!
I read a few about things catching on fire (scary!) but it seems like it was happening with the older ones.
I also read about a guy who replaced his ballasts entirely (something called ice caps... I have no idea about this stuff) and says that now they are amazing lights. So we were thinking of doing that and buying new bulbs right off the bat because the complaint that pretty much everyone has about them is the bulbs they come with are horrible.

If you check out my build thread, I just got those lights for my tank. They're great so far, and if you do want to replace anything on them you don't have to do it right away. I'll probably only keep the stock bulbs for 1/2 the normal time and eventually if the ballasts blow, then I'll replace them

So we were thinking of doing that and buying new bulbs right off the bat because the complaint that pretty much everyone has about them is the bulbs they come with are horrible.