White on live rock

raggedreef

Reefing newb
Hey all,
I am very new to saltwater aquariums and am getting a little worried about my tank. It has been running for about two weeks now with fish and live rock in it for five days. By the second day I started noticing some white on one of my live rocks and now it seems to be spreading. I did some research and it seems like some of it could be some type of worm but the rest of it almost looks like a very thin layer of dried salt. I also have a four stipe damsel that has always had one little white spot on a fin that now seems to be growing, I don't know if this is related or not. I have two damsels, a peppermint shrimp, and just noticed that one of my llive rocks has two feather dusters on it which I found rather exciting. Any suggestions would be helpful.
Thanks

I took a pretty decent pic of what it is but I can't get it to post. do you have an email that I could send it to?
thanks for the help

I was able to attach the pic to this message. I have read more and think that I may have flat worms and possibly some cycling.
any ideas?

Attachments

• live rock.jpg
    live rock.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 1,677
What would I do to fix that? Less light time on the tank? I noticed there is one group on one of my other rocks that does look exactly like a picture that I saw of flat worms.

If the tank is new, it's probably your coralline algae bleaching. If that's what it is, it's quite normal.

I think that's under 20 watts or around 15 watts so that isn't too much light. In fact for corals at least 4 watts per gallon is what's recommended.

:dunno: Have you tested your water?