Newbie to this,Please Help!

buddy08

SPS Addict
So for an introduction, i've been fish keeping for 2 years now and have 3 african cichlid tanks, 1x 75g mixed malawi, 1x 46g bowfront with 6x red zebras, and 1x 30g with 40+ fry (demasonis and red zebras) with that being said, I've decided to venture away from cichlid keeping and explore the saltwater world. I am breaking my 75g down, donating the fish back to the LFS and turning this tank into a reef aquarium. I'm new to all this but have majority of the equipment needed to do so as i bought the tank used on craigslist and it originally was a saltwater tank.

What I have:
I have the light strip ( it has 2, blue actinic bulbs and 2 white) but i will need to rebuild the tank canopy to house them because the original housing sat atop of glass tops and from what i hear, can block out needed light for the corals and its a huge eye sore. I also have a hang over the back protein skimmer although most of the tubing is in pieces so ill have to guess at assembly and the overflow that goes with. (Please help direct me which goes where and how it works. I will attach pictures to this thread). I have 7x powerheads 2x 295gph 2x 230gph and 3x100 gphs but am thinking about replacing all with 2x new 800gps. i also have a 750gph mag drive pump (not seen in pic) so with that being said, i would like to build a sump. The lady at the pet store recommended a 20g long for my sump and stated that the skimmer i have can hang on the back or sit in the sump but if i sit it in the sump, the tubing will be different. my heater is a 250 watt marineland visi-stealth and keeps my cichlid tank at a constant 80 degrees ferinheight.