10 gallons Aquarium

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by pixelsphotopro, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. pixelsphotopro

    pixelsphotopro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lachine, quebec, canada
    Hi, what do I need to start a 10 gallons aquarium with a Clown fish and live rocks?
    Thank you
    Daniel
     
    pixelsphotopro, Jan 29, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. pixelsphotopro

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Will you be keeping corals? If no, then you can use any sort of cheap light you want. If yes, you will need to buy a specialized light for corals.

    Obviously you need a 10 gallon tank. :) Sand (not play sand, be sure to get aquarium sand composed of aragonite), live rocks, a power head for water movement, water (RODI is the best kind to use, not tap), salt mix, and other stuff like test kits, a thermometer, a hydrometer or refractometer and fish food.

    You shouldn't need any type of filter -- you can easily keep a tank that size nice looking by doing regular water changes.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 29, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. pixelsphotopro

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    If you plan on no coral, then all you really need is salt, hydrometer, test kit, a powerhead or two, heater, sand, and rock. If you plan on coral then you'll need a good lighting system. On a tank that small there is no need for a skimmer if you keep up with water changes, and if it's fish only then the water changes wont be needed as much, but recomended.

    Dang it. You beat me again Biff! lol
     
    bobby, Jan 29, 2012
    #3
    pixelsphotopro likes this.
  4. pixelsphotopro

    pixelsphotopro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lachine, quebec, canada
    There will be no coral, the aquarium is a Jebo R338 with the top filter, plus an Aquaclear power haed with a filter attached on it and the 2 Jebo neon and I have many spare heaters, what temp is the best? Thank you all for the fast answers
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
    pixelsphotopro, Jan 29, 2012
    #4
  5. pixelsphotopro

    pixelsphotopro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lachine, quebec, canada
    Also when you say a test kit, is it a special test kit for saltwater??
     
    pixelsphotopro, Jan 29, 2012
    #5
  6. pixelsphotopro

    kbuser92 Breeder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Stability is more important than the actual number. I like 79. Dunno why, though. 76-82 should be good.
     
    kbuser92, Jan 29, 2012
    #6
    pixelsphotopro likes this.
  7. pixelsphotopro

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yes, the test kits are specific for saltwater. If you already have freshwater test kits, they won't work.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 29, 2012
    #7
    pixelsphotopro likes this.
  8. pixelsphotopro

    Kfeezy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis MO
    Yeah there are test kits for reef tanks or just marine because you want a test for nitrate ammonium and sometimes nitrites i got mine for about $25
     
    Kfeezy, Jan 29, 2012
    #8
    pixelsphotopro likes this.
  9. pixelsphotopro

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    Welcome to the site...everyone has you covered.
     
    Smitty, Jan 29, 2012
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.