140 gallon on the second floor?

SalteeDogg

Reefing newb
I am moving into a new home that was built in the mid 1970's. The floor on the second level is supported by 2x10 joist. On newer homes they build the second level out of particle board which is a lot weaker. The second level floor feels really solid with no flex. Was wondering if it would be safe to place the tank up stairs along the back wall? There is a brick wall on the outside but don't think the bricks would support anything? A buddy of mine has a 240 gallon upstairs in a new home which are not made as stout as older homes. I am new to tanks being upstairs so any help would be appreciated. :sfish:

Your right about older homes,they were built sooo much better.Growing up we lived in a home from the 50's.I had a king sized water bed in my room(2nd floor).I think you'll have no problem with putting it up there,especially if your putting it on an outside wall.

Placing the tank upstairs will not be a problem...the weight of the tank is evenly distributed. Also, the flooring is more secure along the outside walls of the building, so it should hold up.

Was thinking about ripping the wall out down stairs to inspect and place alot more 2x4s in the wall for extra security since I use to do sheetrock and maybe add some support to floor as well. I haven't decided yet.

Was thinking about ripping the wall out down stairs to inspect and place alot more 2x4s in the wall for extra security since I use to do sheetrock and maybe add some support to floor as well. I haven't decided yet.

It won't hurt anything to look behind the walls and see exactly what kind of support is there.

Just turn the tank so that it set across the floor joists,and you wont have any problems.