55G Reef Aquarium

Pysiek

Reefing newb
Let me introduce myself first... Hi my name is Kris :mrgreen:
Couple days ago I received a 55G tank from my friend who quit his reef tank. He only gave me the tank,lights,sump , hang on skimmer and a pump with powerhead. I need to clean the tank first and then start to put everything together.
My set up will be a reef aquarium in which I have no experience at all. Many questions will be asked :D
First I will post some pictures of the stuff I have already. In the next week or two I would like to purchase a in-sump skimmer. It will be a slow process because I'm getting married next Saturday.
Okay lets put some pictures. I apologize for the quality. But I took them with my cell phone and the lighting is not so good on that side of my garage.
IMAG0073-1.jpg

My Reverse Osmosis Unit. I also have a storage tank but it still mounted under our sink and I have to pull it out.
IMAG0074-1.jpg

RO unit fits great under the tank
IMAG0075-1.jpg

Sump ( I know very bad picture)
IMAG0070.jpg

Back of the sump
IMAG0071.jpg

Can anyone explain to me how this works???? I know it connect to sump but how the water get into the box? I'm I missing something?
IMAG0072-1.jpg

Last edited:
Yes your missing the U-tube for the overflow box and so far looks alright. The lights look stock single bulb lights probably with 50/50 bulbs if single. Just not the best for a reef tank. I would look in to save up for a better light that just my opinion. check out ebay and craigslist for lights you can find some sweet deals on there.

Should I use the bulb lights or LED? Also can I go to my local home improvement store and purchase a hose that I can use for the overflow u-tube? Where I can find any information explaining how the overflow box works?

Last edited: