55g tank, all levels ok. all fish died overnight

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by mjshealy, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. mjshealy

    mjshealy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gloucester, va
    Have a 55 gallon tank, had a yellow tang, 2 misbar clowns, a orangetail blue damsel, a pom pom crab, a chocolate chip sea star, a condylactis anemone and 5 hermits(for cleaning purposes) I have been battling cloudy water for weeks now. Everything was going fine for a couple of months, and then I added the anemone and hermits, three days later did my 5 gallon water change for the week, and I noticed before the water change it looked like the fish were breathing hard. The next morning I awoke to find everything dead but the hermits. Salinity @ 1.024, pH at 7.8, ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate 0 phosphate 0. no cleaning or air freshners are used within 10 feet of tank. Temp stays at 80. I had a problem with my nitrates and nitrates going up, I upgraded to the marineland emperor 400 90 gallon filtration system and they went to 0 within 24 hours. My fish died a week ago. I tried to introduce a pseudochromis 3 days ago, but he was breathing hard during drip acclimation and died within 5 minutes of being put in the tank. What could be wrong? I'm sorry for the long info, just trying to be thorough. Thanks in advance.
     
    mjshealy, Jul 12, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mjshealy

    mjshealy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gloucester, va
    EDIT: it is a fish-only tank.
     
    mjshealy, Jul 12, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mjshealy

    over my head

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    gulf breeze, florida
    stray current??? or maybe the anemone was on his was out and your that 1 in a 100 case where it nuked the tank but I have lost three and never hade any die off you could take a water sample to you lfs just to confirm you don't have a bad test kit very sorry to here you lost your live stock
     
    over my head, Jul 12, 2013
    #3
  4. mjshealy

    mjshealy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gloucester, va
    No current that I can find. It seems very strange to me that the anemone nuked the tank and also the one fish I tried adding 3-4 days later. He didn't last a couple minutes. I don't know what else I can test for, but any ideas or explanations would be helpful. I'm just wanting to get my aquarium going again, and can't figure out what happened
     
    mjshealy, Jul 12, 2013
    #4
  5. mjshealy

    Big K

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Wow, I am no help whatsoever probably but I'd guess the test kit.

    Hope things improve!
     
    Big K, Jul 12, 2013
    #5
  6. mjshealy

    RockStacker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    CA-USA
    One possibility is that you are getting bad readings from some of your test kits.

    I'm assuming you are only referring to nitrites (and not nitrates).
    For a brand new (dry) biowheel, it will take several days for the bacteria to colonize and start taking a dent out of the nitrites. Consequently by reducing the nitrites, the same bacteria will be increasing the nitrates.
    Nitrites going down to 0ppm 24 hours after adding a new biowheel seems unlikely. Either there were 0 nitrites to begin with, or the test kit is not properly registering nitrites (false negative).

    What are you using to measure salinity/specific gravity?
    Plastic hydrometers are notorious for going out of calibration, or are not calibrated properly to begin with.
     
    RockStacker, Jul 15, 2013
    #6
  7. mjshealy

    Ulta REEFER

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Mt. Pleasant, MI
    You have a LFS check your water yet?
     
    Ulta, Jul 18, 2013
    #7
  8. mjshealy

    mjshealy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gloucester, va
    Yes I did, but all levels were fine according to their tests too. I believe it was a bacteria bloom, since then my water has cleared and I think I'm about ready to add a fish.
     
    mjshealy, Jul 19, 2013
    #8
  9. mjshealy

    istrahd

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR USA
    I am sorry to hear you lost all of your fish. I hope you figure out what happened in your tank so your next fish thrive!
     
    istrahd, Jul 20, 2013
    #9
  10. mjshealy

    Pilotkev55

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Memphis
    I hope you can find out what happened , don't be discouraged . It made me sad for you and this experience. Nobody wants their pets to die
     
    Pilotkev55, Jul 22, 2013
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.