56 Gallon Tall - Beginner Status

Ramen Rubber

Reefing newb
Hey gang.
I have been absent for a long time. Back when I joined I had a 40ga Tall that I wanted to do seahorses with but I'm new to salt and I didn't want it to be too overwhelming. I also didn't want t set it up when I knew I had to move in like 7 months. I just got into my next place and I got a new tank and I got everything setup. Its pretty simple, and I am trying to go slow, and be patient, but its hard. Tank is a 56ga tall, nice stand. Found it at a TrueValue store, only 280. I really only wanted the stand, but he wanted 220 just for the stand. Then my buddy hooked me up with a Fluval 207 canister filter, and HOB protien skimmer, crushed coral base, and some old rock and dried coral pieces. I then hit up the LFS and got a powerhead, rated for like 125ga tank, 20lbs of live sand, 30lbs of over decade old established live rock, a fluid type water test kit, and fluval salinity tester. Rocks had a hermit crab and some star fish on it. At this point I am waiting for the water stats to come out right to add in some fun stuff.

I would change out the crushed coral now before you have a bunch of other stuff in there. The sand is going to fall to the bottom and the crushed coral will end up on top turning into a gigantic crap trap, causing endless water quality issues.

Also the canister filters dont work well in saltwater tanks, you are far better served to just do regular water changes with the aid of protein skimmer.

Finally, the hydrometers are notorious inaccurate, and I highly recommend investing in a refractometer.

The live rock looks beautiful though, very nice coraline growth.

Thanks for the input Fish. I am not sure what you mean about ditching the filter. as in, go no filter period? I will consider the sand thing. The buddy that gave me the coral sand and filter had a good looking take for about 1 year before it just crashed.