6 foot tank

RyanG

Reef enthusiast
Ok Alto against my better judgement Im going to start this thread:

What is the largest volume tank that has a six foot long footprint that wont force me to use metal halide lighting? Im starting to actually plan out my reef and area of the new house to put it. My girlfriend Janell, has alloted me only 6 ft of wall space and I would like to maximize it. Also I will only be using a glass aquarium too many horror stories with acrylic. Also should I buy a "reef ready" or have it drilled after purchase. Corner or center overflows and the like, just collecting oppinions.

Glad you started this. I am sure you will be thankful for it. At this time I have no knowledge of anything you have asked. Biff and Reef are usually on pretty late to give you a hand.

Ok using the dimensions from that link, what are my lighting options with a 25" depth tank vs 31". And if i went with the tall(180) do you think that an 18" width would be sufficient? Seems narrow to me? what about the overflows?

if your going to do a reef and are concerned with lighting I would go with a 180 like mine... not tall. its 24 wide instead and if you don't want mh lighting it will be better because a taller tank will require more light penetration to reach the bottom

So far the 180 wide (72x24x25) is winning out, I could really uses some input on reef ready vs custom and locations

It seems on that site they use glass overflors? That would look kind of wierd seeing the water dropping and mixing in the overflows in your tank... Most are flat black plastic overflows. There prices dont seem that great with the RR option, a 125 that i am interested in is 500 drilled. Fosters and smith has them for around 3 something. I would say a 180 is a good choice, anything deeper and you will need MH's. Even though its probably not much more expensive... A good set of 6 foot long T5's is right around 500-1000$ anyway. So keep that in mind.