6 gallon nano cube

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Stogey, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. Stogey

    Stogey Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hey, hows it going? Just bought a little 6 gallon nano. I was just wondering about the filter system. I know its the 3 stage like bio cube. Still a little confused. If anyone could give me a quick run through, that would be great. Thanks:Cheers:
     
    Stogey, Nov 14, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Stogey

    lilmatty5dimes

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    283
    Location:
    Cocoa, FL
    If it's like the biocubes then you have the water going thru filter trays( one on the top and one on the bottom) chamber one which is just filter cartridge, chamber 2 is where you put your bioballs, and chamber 3 is a sponge at the bottom and then your return pump. Here's a pic of all of this. hope this helps. lil matty
     

    Attached Files:

    lilmatty5dimes, Nov 14, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Stogey

    Mandarin66 Oh Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Baltimore , MD USA
    Stop stealing pics lol
     
    Mandarin66, Nov 14, 2011
    #3
  4. Stogey

    SarahSmile :)

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Tropical Ohio
    Stop typing lol.
     
    SarahSmile, Nov 14, 2011
    #4
    NanoReefer and Mandarin66 like this.
  5. Stogey

    Stogey Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    I don't need a skimmer do I?
     
    Stogey, Nov 14, 2011
    #5
  6. Stogey

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Nope, not in a 6 gallon you won't.
     
    BL1, Nov 15, 2011
    #6
  7. Stogey

    Stogey Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Alright. So i just don't understand if I need a carbon filter and where it goes. Sorry I'm sure these are rediculous questions
     
    Stogey, Nov 15, 2011
    #7
  8. Stogey

    NanoReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    pennsylvania
    no, in most sm all tanks someone will run carbon for a short amonut of time like 4 days a month to remove impurities. most of your filtration will be your live rock. a skimmer is not necessary but you must keep up with waterchanges. you can remove bioballs and add live rock there little pieces. bioballs collect debris and cause water quality issues
     
    NanoReefer, Nov 15, 2011
    #8
  9. Stogey

    Stogey Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Ok perfect. Then the stage for fresh water is where I stick the sponge.
     
    Stogey, Nov 15, 2011
    #9
  10. Stogey

    NanoReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    pennsylvania
    what?
     
    NanoReefer, Nov 15, 2011
    #10
  11. Stogey

    Stogey Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    Lol. Like in the diagram at the top. My bio cube has a sponge that sits in between the two chambers. Just wondering if the systems have the same setup there too. I'm sure these are the most lame questions. Thanks tho
     
    Stogey, Nov 15, 2011
    #11
  12. Stogey

    NanoReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    pennsylvania
    i dont understand what you are saying about the section for freshwater. and the only lame question is a question unasked
     
    NanoReefer, Nov 15, 2011
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.