A Few Things Everyone New to SW Tanks Should Know

istrahd

Reefing newb
Let me start off by saying, I am NO EXPERT. I am new to Salt-Water. I had a LOT of questions about starting a SW Reef Tank and the kind folks here were Extremely helpful! I condensed many of my questions/answers & other things I have learned so far into this post.

This thread is intended to help people just starting a SW tank or considering starting one. This thread will answer a LOT of your questions and I hope an admin will find this to be a helpful thread and "STICKY" the post in this forum to make it easy for noobs to find and learn from.

I invite more experienced Reefers to add their thoughts and correct any mistakes I might make. There is SO much to learn and no one person can possibly know it all. I know the folks here will chime in and this will become a Great Resource for anyone starting or thinking about a SW Tank whether it is a Reef or FOWLR Tank.

1. This is an Expensive Hobby! Be prepared to spend more on your tank than you do on yourself... To me, my 125 gallon reef tank is going to be a living piece of Artwork. Saltwater tanks are arguably the most beautiful fish tanks you can have, especially when you have corals, anemones, etc. My tank is the centerpiece of my Living Room. I took the TV and all sorts of other distractions out of the Living Room so as not to detract from the showpiece that my tank will become.
2. Nothing Good Happens Fast in a Salt-Water Tank. Bad things happen very fast. Go slow, take your time, read as many threads as you can and more importantly, ask as many questions as you need to, no matter how trivial or stupid you may think it is. You can kill everything in your tank, easily!