Algae covering my sand

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by jeddy576, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. jeddy576

    jeddy576

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    For a few weeks now there has been red algae that covers my sand. I have a few sand sifters but it dosnet help. Does anyone know of anything i can do? Thank You
     
    jeddy576, Apr 12, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jeddy576

    amonyia

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth ,texas
    Are your nitrates high?if so try to lower. For the slime you'll have to syphon out with a syphone tool from the lfs,or turky baster for smaller jobs,but you only need to skim the top of the bed try not to disturb the bed to much.hope this helps
     
    amonyia, Apr 12, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jeddy576

    minireefer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Sunnyvale,Ca
    Most new tanks will get cyno bacteria.Do agree that high nitrates will make the stuff grow out of control along with phosphates.Have a look at the articles pages for extra help.Also chemi-clean will help temporally remove it
     
    minireefer, Apr 12, 2006
    #3
  4. jeddy576

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    if it is cyano, increased flow around the areas will help. It usually means theres low flow there.
     
    ReefWannabe, Apr 12, 2006
    #4
  5. jeddy576

    Chris

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    26
  6. jeddy576

    jeddy576

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    I tested nitrate and its not that. It covers all the sand so could it still be a problem with the water flow?
     
    jeddy576, Apr 13, 2006
    #6
  7. jeddy576

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    Are you sure its slime? How new is the tank. It could be diatoms, if the tank is still new. Mine is at least 2 montsh old, and I just started getting diatoms maybe a week ago. My nitrates are 20, but I still get them lol. My hermits on working overtime though since its gone every morning.
     
    ReefWannabe, Apr 13, 2006
    #7
  8. jeddy576

    jeddy576

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    Im not sure what it is. My tank is 6 months old. My nitrates are less than 5.
     
    jeddy576, Apr 13, 2006
    #8
  9. jeddy576

    minireefer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Sunnyvale,Ca
    What is your phosphate reading?
     
    minireefer, Apr 13, 2006
    #9
  10. jeddy576

    bkv1997

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    Things that will never hurt when trying to control algea.

    1) Do you have good flow?
    2) Do you use RO water or tap water when making new saltwater?
    3) Purchase a Phosban reactor cheap and though I don't have one have seen people that struggled with the very same issue that praise this 50 dollar piece of equipment.

    Hope this helps
    Brandon
     
    bkv1997, Apr 13, 2006
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.