algae help

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Lanzo, Aug 12, 2007.

  1. Lanzo

    Gio94sr20

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    MIAMI,FL USA
    Kinda like the look though
     
    Gio94sr20, Aug 16, 2007
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. Lanzo

    Gio94sr20

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    MIAMI,FL USA


    Just a question from from the parameters of the water it shows signs of ammonia but no nitrite is that possible.?:question:
     
    Gio94sr20, Aug 16, 2007
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. Lanzo

    Lanzo LAN

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    For the 18 months that my tank is running, I have never ever had a reeding of nitrite above 0. My amonia was at a time 0.50 and nitrite 0.
    I graf all of my readings.
    Is there something wrong?
     
    Lanzo, Aug 16, 2007
    #23
  4. Lanzo

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    A lot of ammonia kits will read like .25 ammonia when its actually 0.
     
    yote, Aug 16, 2007
    #24
  5. Lanzo

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Lanzo
    I think thats just in your test kit for ammonia.If you'd went 18 months with ammonia actually in the tank,you would have a lot more problems then just algae.
     
    yote, Aug 16, 2007
    #25
  6. Lanzo

    Lanzo LAN

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    So my test kits is maybe old and "kak" that's Afrikaans word for Shit.
    For a student reef keeping is very very expen....
    If my Ca reading is that high,what can i do to lower it.
    Thanks for all your help yote!!!!!!
     
    Lanzo, Aug 16, 2007
    #26
  7. Lanzo

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    There are 2 ways to lower calcium.
    My personal choice is to stock the tank with small polyp stonie corals.They eat calcium pretty quick.

    But you would probably be better off just doing water changes.Have your fish store double check your readings for calcium before you worry about it though.Calcium wont hurt anything in your tank unless it gets so high that it starts precipating(sp?) out of the water.Then it will burn your fish and corals,wear out your power heads and pumps,and generally make a mess out things.
     
    yote, Aug 16, 2007
    #27
  8. Lanzo

    Lanzo LAN

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    i'll let them check it saterday and then i'll tell you.Thanks man!
     
    Lanzo, Aug 16, 2007
    #28
  9. Lanzo

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Any time.
     
    yote, Aug 16, 2007
    #29
  10. Lanzo

    HAWKS12thMAN NWKRC THUG!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Cle Elum, WA
    my test kit will read .25 on new salt water.
    There are 2 types of ammonia - free ammonia and ammonium. Free ammonia is what burns the fish's gills. Fish will come to the surface and gulp air when the ammonia is high. Ammonium is always present and is harmless. Most test kits will show a minimum amount of ammonia and what you're reading is actually ammonium. Once your tank is established, your test should read zero or a trace depending on the test kit and further testing is unnecessary. Sources of ammonia are dead corals, dead fish and OVER FEEDING.
    Again work cited from SeaHorse Aquarium Supply
     
    HAWKS12thMAN, Aug 17, 2007
    #30
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.