Aloha! I'm new to saltwater aquariums AND this site. :)

laura-jean

friend to the fish
Hi there! My name is Laura, and I'm new to salt water aquariums. I've only ever had freshwater in the past, and I was always fascinated by the different kinds of species and corals you can have in a saltwater tank versus freshwater creatures/plants. So I'm finally on my way to having my own miniature reef.

A little about myself: I'm a freshman in college, I have two rats whom I love, I'm rather addicted to picking up new hobbies, and my favorite color is purple. I'm rather shallow when it comes to pets...if it isn't "cute", I'm not really very interested. Thus a mated pair of clown fish will be my first foray in to the saltwater world. They're adorable.

I've been cycling my tank for a week, and today I purchased a tiny horseshoe crab, a fiddler crab, and a plain ol little hermit crab, as well as a tiny blue/yellow damsel. I don't expect the damsel to be a regular in my tank... my buddy at the reef store suggested just getting something cheap so to create wastes to better help my tank cycle. I have a mated pair of clowns waiting for me at my reef store that I bought yesterday. I'm going to get them on Wednesday probably. And if the damsel is still alive I'll might bring him back to the fish store; they get territorial, right? As of this moment he is hiding behind my rock formation, and he hasn't moved from there since I put him in the tank about three hours ago. Sooo maybe I'll keep him if he intends on just hiding all the time, and if he promises to not bug my clowns. :P

I hope everyone is having a great holiday, and I'm excited to get to know some new fish-minded friends here.

I've learned a lot from poking around on this forum, and I look forward to learning even more as I start my undersea adventure. :)

Aloha Ahiahi, Laura!