Am I getting this cycling thing wrong?

chris2

Reefing newb
I am a total noob, and I am so worried over these fish. I just started cycling the tank. 40 gal., about 50 lbs. live rock, crushed coral, powerhead, filter, skimmer, 50/50 light. I just added 4 damsels TWO days ago, and the nitrite level is 0.5 !!!
The fish look great, I read that high nitrate levels make them sluggish and they breathe heavy. None of that is there.
Am I reading this all wrong? I thought that the live rock would convert the nitrite into nitrate? Should I leave this alone, or start changing out water? I read two gallons per day until the levels go down. I'll post the rest of the levels for day three tomorrow night.
Please advise and thank you in advance.

Cycling with fish usually ends up killing them. With the amount of live rock that you put in the tank, that alone should have been enough to cycle it. An even better alternative to using live fish is using a piece of shrimp from the grocery store. Then when the tank is done cycling, you add your fish, and you don't risk killing them. Plus, you will regret having damsels in there if they do survive. They are super aggressive and will try to kill any fish that you add after them.

If I were you, I would catch the damsels, take them back to the store, and let the tank cycle without them. It's just not a good idea to cycle with fish, and one of my pet peeves are fish stores that tell people they need to do it that way. You either end up killing a bunch of animals, or you're stuck with fish that kill all your other animals.

The live rock will convert nitrite to nitrate -- but only after your tank has cycled and your bacterial colonies have grown and established themselves. It can take several weeks for that to happen. In the meantime, your ammonia and nitrite levels will spike. Once both of them drop down to zero, then do water changes. Doing water changes in the middle of the cycle will only prolong it.