Anothe Newbie

dpajr24

Reefer Wannabe
:bounce:hola amigos:bounce:

I've just decided to get back in to salt water aquariums. I had a salt fiish aquarium for 5 years (seahorses). I managed well, but gave it up when I relocated. I grew up w/ parents that were avid reefers, so I have some knowledge.

I've reviewed a few sites and I'm questioning the amount of live rock and sand they recommend. I'm starting up a 37 gal reef. According to my calculations, it's recommended to have 50 lbs of live rock and almost an equal amount of live substrate.

That sounds like a heavy load for a small 37 gallon. What say you?

I'd also like to know what people think of Florida live rock. Cheaper, yes, but is it worth it? I've always preferred the Fijian.

Looking forward to your comments.

D

heya, welcome to the reef!

~ 50lbs sounds good for a 37g. 1-2lbs/gallon is a good rule of thumb.

Substrate varies, I would say more of a personal preference thing. Doesn't have to be live tho it will become live.
(Stay away from crushed coral >_<!)

and I would recommend looking for live rock from local reefers tearing down their tanks, I bought 50lbs of some "Premium" fiji live rock online when I was new and I have to say it was possibly the worst purchase I had made(Everything was dead and bleached by the time it got to me). There should be somewhere you can look for local reefers tearing down their tanks and can usually find some great Liverock at a great price. But once again, you don't need your rock to be "live" lots of people on here buy Macro Rocks (Dry Rock) and use that in their tank, quickly your tank will cycle and your rocks will become "live". :)

Another place that has a great reputation is TBS Tampa Bay Saltwater. Its a bit pricey but come with tons of great stuff. The one example I can think of if your interested in this is check out any of D2Mini's build threads located in the "Tank Showcase" section on the forums.

Welcome aboard.