Another 1st timer here.

dolphins8426

Reefing newb
Well I am very new to this hobbie and I seem to be off to a good start. I recenty set up a 55gl aquarium with a wet/dry sump pump, power heads and about 60lbs of live rock. I recenty placed 6 small damsel in my tank about a few weeks ago to cycle my tank and plan on returning them back to the store when I am done with the cycle period. Heres a picture of what it looks like so far. Let me know what you guys think? Be honest I can take it.

Sandeigo068.JPG

I think it looks really good. Has your tank done cycling yet? I'm not so sure that the damsels will survive. In the future, instead of using live fish to cycle a tank, it's a better idea to throw in a piece of shrimp from the grocery store and let it rot. The cycle tends to go much quicker, and you don't waste money on fish that will probably die.

What kind of tank are you planning on having? Fish only? Reef? What kind of lights do you have right now, and do you plan on keeping those lights?

Welcome to the site!

Looks good man, get rid of them DAMsels, they will only cause you probs in the future...Shrimp works great to cycle the tank...

First off,Welcome to the reef.
The tank looks great.But you will want to remove that air line from the power head in the left hand corner.It'll cause you problems with salt creep plus the micro-bubbles arent good for your fishes gills.
Those damsels will probably survive the cycle and leave you wishing they had died the first day.Their nearly impossible to catch in a tank thats stocked with rock.
Good luck with it,and post any questions you come up with along with any pics you want to share.

Welcome, nice looking start to your tank, and just so you know, you and many others here are making me very very jealous!! Welcome to LR I think you will find the advice good and the peeps very freindly, I know I sure have in the short time I have been here.

Welcome to Living Reefs,