Another newbie

putter

Reefing newb
Hello from British Columbia Canada, of course I am new to aquariums I do have a small tank now (5g) and have plans for a large one soon, just waiting on the quotes. The plan is for a 94 to 105 gallon reef tank. I have been reading forums and the dummies book for SW aquariums for the last few weeks and have discovered that there is a lot to learn!! The 2 quotes I await are for a 94 gallon glass tank and a 105 gallon arcylic, not too sure which way to go with this, seems like a split decision among the current tank owners. My head spins with questions about what type of skimmer, which power heads to use, lights, substrate, etc. etc. I was all set to buy MH lights then discovered Solaris LED's, same with skimmers, was all set to purchase a ASM G2 but now I am thinking that going with a Tunze skimmer and powerheads.

Welcome to the reef.
Ive been hearing some bad stuff on the solaris LED fixtures but I dont anybody that is actually willing to invest that much money in a set of lights.
I also hear good things about your choice of skimmers.
Good luck with your project and post any questions you have.

Hello and welcome! I would definitely go with the glass aquarium. The water volumes of the two are so similar, and acrylic scratches really easily, which is no good for a reef tank. As for skimmers, I would recommend the Octopus brand. They are cheaper than EuroReef or ASM and of comparable quality. I have one on my 240 and I love it.

Solaris lights are EXPENSIVE! Go with metal halide or T5s.

As for powerheads, I use Hydor Koralias. They are great.

welcome aboard !! i agree with all of Biffy's suggestions.

FWIW ... the more water volume that you have the easier the tank is to take care of. it leaves more room for errors that WILL be made. i say join the BTC from the get go.

Welcome to the site.