Any computer/network folks out there?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Cottonwood, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Lets move to Basketball..

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Cottonwood/Sedona, AZ USA
    My sister just came home from School. Her laptop will connect to the wireless network at my parents house, but it says that the internet is not working. And says to reset the router or gives some other similar options like that. However the PC and my Dads laptop connect just fine and the internet works just fine. I'm on my Dads right now...my sisters is sitting next to me...it has full bars for connection to the network, but says it wont connect to the internet. Any ideas on how I can fix it? Seems to be some setting with her laptop perhaps? (hp with windows vista)
     
    Cottonwood, Dec 26, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Cottonwood

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    You should be able to open "join the selected network" and enter the network password. Sorry I'm not much help with a PC since I'm totally a Mac person. Maybe someone will answer soon. Good luck.
     
    dcantucson, Dec 26, 2010
    #2
    Cottonwood likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Cottonwood

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I'm no expert either, but if I were you, I'd unplug the router for 30 seconds, then plug it back in. See if that helps. Whenever I'm having internet problems, doing that usually fixes it. :dunno:
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 26, 2010
    #3
    Cottonwood likes this.
  4. Cottonwood

    Zissou What about my dynamite? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Alaska
    Make sure the button on the side of her laptop for wifi is in the on position.

    And you can reset the router too. There should be a small pinhole button to push, or you can just unplug it for thirty seconds as Biff said.
     
    Zissou, Dec 26, 2010
    #4
    Cottonwood likes this.
  5. Cottonwood

    Pwny

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    VA USA
    if you right click the wireless icon on the bottom right hot bar there should be a option for "nat type" try open or wep some have it listed diffrent if this dosent work try diffrent options on the list but it will need to be the same as whatever the router is setup to be, w/o knowing that i cant tell you what one you need. hope this helps but sounds like this is your problem.
     
    Pwny, Dec 26, 2010
    #5
    Cottonwood likes this.
  6. Cottonwood

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Is your parent's router set up with DHCP? My home network isn't but, when I go to my parents house I need to change my network settings to accept DHCP.
     
    BL1, Dec 26, 2010
    #6
    Cottonwood likes this.
  7. Cottonwood

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    I'll bet its the network key for wireless.
     
    sen5241b, Dec 26, 2010
    #7
    Cottonwood likes this.
  8. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Lets move to Basketball..

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Cottonwood/Sedona, AZ USA
    We tried turning off the router and turning it back on and got nothing. I'm not over there now but I'll check the nat type and the settings on her laptop. So weird because her laptop worked before, but since she came back its not. Some setting must have been changed.
     
    Cottonwood, Dec 26, 2010
    #8
  9. Cottonwood

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    +1. Sen.
     
    PRC, Dec 26, 2010
    #9
  10. Cottonwood

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Maybe there was a software update that didn't get done on her laptop.
     
    dcantucson, Dec 26, 2010
    #10
  11. Cottonwood

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    Odds are she took the laptop somewhere..logged into the interenet. When she logged in wirelessly, she picked the same option that she had at your house. (Home, Workplace, Public Location).

    For example, if she had your home set up as home, and then logged in somewhere else and chose it as home also, the computer erased the 1st home..She'll have to go in and put in the Password or WEP Key....

    Down in the bottom right hand corner of her computer where it shows her wireless connection, if you click it, it only says LOCAL...she doesn't have priveleges to get onto the internet until she puts in the password. You can possibly circumvent the issue by plugging the computer directly into the router with a CAT5 cable...Once the router and computer recognize each other the problem will be solved.
     
    PRC, Dec 26, 2010
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.