Anyone ever use a programmable "basic stamp" for aquarium?

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by Gigaah, May 10, 2010.

  1. Gigaah

    Gigaah

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'm just curious if anyone knows if this has been done. They are fully programmable with 16 inputs/outputs. You can wire in thermocouples, liquid level sensors(neat "etape"), and program it. You need a little electrical aptitude and a very basic programming aptitude.

    Just curious if anyone has done it so I could compare whats been done with what I plan on doing..
     
    Gigaah, May 10, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Gigaah

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Ehhhhhhh....wut??? :lol:
     
    Bifferwine, May 11, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Gigaah

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    +1 Biff. I was lost with basic stamp.
     
    dcantucson, May 11, 2010
    #3
  4. Gigaah

    Gigaah

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    24
    BASIC Stamp Activity Kit

    It has 16 inputs/outputs to take in information from sensors(thermocouple, fluid level sensor) and output signals..turn on/off lights, turn off/of ATO, heater.

    You can programming it to turn off lights if temp gets too high and basicly anything else you can dream up... you can turn it on or off in anyway, for any reason based on time, sensors anything else.
     
    Gigaah, May 11, 2010
    #4
  5. Gigaah

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    For the $100 the kit costs, I would buy a Reefkeeper Lite for the same price. ;)
     
    ccCapt, May 11, 2010
    #5
  6. Gigaah

    drew00c

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario
    This is true, much easier to program and use. I tried the STAMP on my african tank and let me tell you, its a huge pain in the ass.
     
    drew00c, May 11, 2010
    #6
  7. Gigaah

    d2mini VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,630
    Likes Received:
    979
    Location:
    Houston
    Ya, why would you buy this over a Reef Keeper Lite?
     
    d2mini, May 11, 2010
    #7
  8. Gigaah

    Gigaah

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well first off I got the basic stamp free. hehe. I'm very familiar with basic programming and electronics.

    I do understand the ease of use with reefkeeper. However 99$ only gets you 4 programable outlets and a temp sensor. I'm looking for something closer to reefkeeper lite plus and a little more. My LED lighting system I'm half done building will have about 100 1w star mounted LEDs warm white, 6k white, 10k white, blue, and actinic. I'd like to dynamicly fad them on and off in progrogression like the sun rising. Fad on the warm white, then the 6k white, then the 10k, then power up the blue, then my actinic. Possibly even fad from left to right simulating the suns travel. Just for kicks. I'm a geek and a saltwater addict..thats how I roll. lol

    I'm also very interested in this etape liquid level sensor with no moving parts.
    Liquid Level Sensor

    Then I have all sorts of plans rolling around in my head about various things I can control exactly how I want to. I'd really like to design an automatic frozen food feeder because I have very different views on how fish should be fed. but thats a different post all together.

    Anyway. As you can see I have all sorts of crazy ideas that..however complicated..I am capable of accomplishing with the basic stamp given time.

    Thats why even if I had to pay 100$ for the stamp, for me, I'd rather have all the control I could ever want.
     
    Gigaah, May 12, 2010
    #8
  9. Gigaah

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    I did some programing in Assembly before. On a motorol 68HC11 but that was 8-10 years ago:shock: Never done it in basic. Definantly would look into this to control an LED lighting system.
     
    bjohanson1234, May 13, 2010
    #9
  10. Gigaah

    Gigaah

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    24
    lol programming this chip is far more easy that anything programmed in assembly. At least basic makes coherent readable sense. and you don't have to fill 5 pages to make one light blink on and off.
     
    Gigaah, May 13, 2010
    #10
  11. Gigaah

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    The stamp is a toy. I wouldn't trust the well being of my livestock to it.
     
    PRC, May 13, 2010
    #11
  12. Gigaah

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    Just reading about the eTape sensor, it says for non corosive liquids. I would think that it wouldnt last very long in a salt water environment. Salt water is very corosive.
     
    bjohanson1234, May 13, 2010
    #12
  13. Gigaah

    Brian_G overly obsessed

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    we actually used this same exact board in my Engineering class I just finished , and got an A in i might add :)

    its extremely simple but i think it would be a little tedious to use in this kind of setting. lots of wires and such heading in and out of the breadboard which is so small.

    If you are up for the challange I say GO FOR IT haha. it will definitely always be a work in progress and there will always be room for expansion.

    Edit: the points others are making are definitely something to consider though.... would it work?

    PRC- people actually use this setup to control their houses all the time
     
    Brian_G, May 13, 2010
    #13
  14. Gigaah

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    And what do you think is the brains of a reef keeper light? Something very similar to this. It is the programing and the circuit building that determine the quality of the product.
     
    bjohanson1234, May 13, 2010
    #14
  15. Gigaah

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    I control houses for a living. Nobody uses these. Like you said, this is a practice board. It's something that you would use in electrical engineering class.
     
    PRC, May 13, 2010
    #15
  16. Gigaah

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    You're right, all electronic circuitry is based on the same foundation. The issue is the quality with which it has been designed. All I'm saying is that these things are toys, they're things to be played with while you're learning electronics. They are not made to last for any long period of time.

    If you're controlling some piece of electronic equipment, no big deal. When you're controlling devices that have the well-being of your livestock as well as your home in it, you don't want to use something that will not last.

    Not trying to offend anybody, just don't want to see the thread "all my shit is dead"
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2010
    PRC, May 13, 2010
    #16
  17. Gigaah

    Gigaah

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have no doubts about the reliability of the device. Its a logic controller just like any other and has serious proven reliability and is used over and over in many applications.

    Programming in Basic language is nearly 2nd nature to me so it shouldn't be hard. I've looked over the command table for the Pbasic they use and it doesn't get even remotely difficult until you get into communicating with other integrated circuits. or trying to ouput to an LCD screen...which I'd LOVE to do.

    As far as connecting to the breadboard They have pin headers and connectors that will work just like any data plug and if I ever decide "i'm finished" I can etch a circuit board.

    Again. not for everyone.
     
    Gigaah, May 13, 2010
    #17
  18. Gigaah

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Australia
    hahaha basic is quite easy, but i wouldnt know how to program what your looking at. I would suggest go for something simple, unless you want a challenge :p
     
    Jmck, May 13, 2010
    #18
  19. Gigaah

    puttycat

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Michigan
    I am sure it would work. By the time its done it will be cheaper to buy the Rkl.Even tho you got the kit free, there are no probes or outlets. Don't see the point in reinventing the wheel here. Time also =$
     
    puttycat, May 19, 2010
    #19
  20. Gigaah

    mikewurtz FOWLR Power! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    As an intense "tinkerer" myself, I understand the pure joy you would get simply out of making it work. From the sound of Gigaah's posts he obviously LOVES this stuff. I say go for it - and by all means, post the follow up.
     
    mikewurtz, May 22, 2010
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.