Base Rock/Live Rock

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by vinhjamin8302, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. vinhjamin8302

    vinhjamin8302 Vinh

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central illinois
    Alright canopy is done lights are in and now im a few steps closer to victory, now ive been lookin at previous threads and if im correct in can use say 20lbs of base rock(prob rock from Marcorock.com) and like 10-12lbs of cure live rock to seed the rest and i'll be ok and with some scrubbing the cured rock will seed the rest in time? Also goin with about 3-4in of argonite sand, also gonna try to seed from my LFS.
     
    vinhjamin8302, Nov 24, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. vinhjamin8302

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Absolutely can do that. You really dont need do do the scrubbing IMO.
     
    RyanG, Nov 24, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. vinhjamin8302

    Altohombre The Tennis Pro Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Highland Park, NJ
    it'll take a bit of time for the other rock to be fully seeded, but it will definitly get algae growth on it soon and both rock types will look similar
     
    Altohombre, Nov 24, 2008
    #3
  4. vinhjamin8302

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Once the base has been in the tank for a few months,you wont be able to tell the difference between it and live rock.
     
    yote, Nov 24, 2008
    #4
  5. vinhjamin8302

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    i agree with all of the above!
     
    cthegame, Nov 24, 2008
    #5
  6. vinhjamin8302

    Stupidsreef

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Granite city IL
    Yea I don't "scrub" the LR either. I place it in a seperate container with new made up SW and a power head, then a week later I epmty it and replace with New SW again. I do that about 3 or 4 times, depending on the smell of the LR. Then place it into the tank. It will take a few weeks for the base rock to start looking like the rest. By six months you'll be the only person who can tell the differance.
     
    Stupidsreef, Nov 25, 2008
    #6
  7. vinhjamin8302

    vinhjamin8302 Vinh

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central illinois
    Ok cool info well absorbed, hey stupid! I see your from the St.Lou area can give me some good LFS around here to get worthy LR?
     
    vinhjamin8302, Nov 25, 2008
    #7
  8. vinhjamin8302

    Stupidsreef

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Granite city IL
    It's kind of hit an miss really. If you can I'd go to CPE Jan is closing the store at the end of this month. You might get a steal on the LR. Here's her stores info:
    Clayton Pet Emporium
    509 South Hanley
    Clayton MO 63105
    (314)725-7757

    My second choice would be this one:
    Marine Solutions ( www.stlmarinesolutions.com )
    2236 First Capitol Drive
    St. Charles, MO 63301
    636-947-5999

    and my third choice would be this store:
    Tropical World Pets
    8444 Watson Rd.
    St. Louis, MO 63119
    (314) 849-4020

    If your around the IL side another really good place to go would be Velco's place. He is more of a high end store but his rock is really good and the price is the same as the rest. Here's his info:
    Aquatic Treasures ( www.aquatictreasures.net )
    525 Lincoln Hwy Suite 15
    Fairview Heights IL 62208
    (618)632-7333
    I'll hold the other store's info back as you asked for worthy LR. And I'm sure you mean good rock and a fair price.

    Stu.
     
    Stupidsreef, Nov 26, 2008
    #8
    vinhjamin8302 likes this.
  9. vinhjamin8302

    vinhjamin8302 Vinh

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central illinois
    Thanks stupid!! I will surely look into the CPE havent been there yet, nor marine solutions:)
     
    vinhjamin8302, Nov 29, 2008
    #9
  10. vinhjamin8302

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Don't use 3 or 4 inches of sand.

    Either use only 1" for looks and an AEROBIC bacteria bed

    OR:

    Use AT LEAST 6" for a Deep Sand Bed (DSB)

    3" is just enough to provide a nice AEROBIC bacteria bed and also just enough to trap waste and other crap in the tank. But it's not enough to do any real break down of nitrates. You need 6" to get any ANAEROBIC bacteria and subsequent nitrate break down.

    Lots of people don't want to give up 6" of space n the bottom of their tank. Thats' understandable. In that case, just use 1" of sand. 2" or 3" or 4" isn't any better than 1". It's actually worse.

    My tank is 24" deep, so 6" of sand in the bottom is fine with me. I kinda need it because I only have 144w of T5 lighting and I've been told it takes a LOT of lights to penetrate way down that far. With 6" of sand in the bottom my lights only have to penetrate 18" to reach the bottom.

    Option 1: 1"

    Option 2: 6"

    Setting yourself up for failure from the very beginning: 2", 3" or 4"
     
    Rcpilot, Nov 29, 2008
    #10
    vinhjamin8302 likes this.
  11. vinhjamin8302

    vinhjamin8302 Vinh

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central illinois
    But if i wanted to keep sand sifters like a goby, would 1'' be ok?
     
    vinhjamin8302, Nov 29, 2008
    #11
  12. vinhjamin8302

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    1" is plenty for the gobies.
     
    yote, Nov 29, 2008
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.