Beast's Budget Build

Beastlyness 22

Reefing newb
Hello everyone! I have been searching through multiple saltwater forums and so far the users here seem friendly and the most open to new ideas. So here it goes. Most people I see spend thousands on tanks and I wish I could do this, but unfortunately I’m a broke college student so I wanted to build a budget system that many might be able to build using a little saved cash from there Christmas money and in there tip jar....so without further ado I will post my latest picture and tell you where I am and what my future plans are. Constructive criticism is welcome. I will honestly tell you though that I won't take much to heart however and go buy two hundred dollar equipment because you say I absolutely need it. Please keep in mind that this is a budget build. Thank you and I hope I have come with some new ideas.

k0mv80.jpg

What I have purchased (USD currency)
10 gal tank combo with hood and HOB (petsmart/LFS) 10-20 filter - 35$ USD
Mini Jet 606 (online) - 12$
twenty watt light bulb (petco/LFS) - 11$ x2
Thermometer (LFS) - 3$
Heater (LFS) - 10$
Fake coral rock 5lbs (petsmart/LFS) -13$
live sand 10lbs bag (petco/LFS) - 17$
Salt for 10gal (petco/LFS) - 8$
Specific gravity tester (petsmar/LFS - 8$

*this will get you started

What I plan on getting and would like feed back
Right now my lighting system is substandard. I know you need 10 watts per gallon although I have seen less that has worked for at least fish only tanks. As far as of right now my tank would not be able to hold coral life; however I have found a cheap lighting solution that I plan to modify, and is wondering if anyone has done this.
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-202066791/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053