Biological Filtration Questions

Nedim

Reefing newb
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and in the process of converting my 46g bowfront to a saltwater tank. At my disposal I have; an emperor double biowheel hang-on filter, magnum canister filter, uv light sterilizer and power head to power the sterilizer. Now I've heard that bopwheels are bad for saltwater tanks beacause they produce high levels of nitrates. Is there any truth to that? I have also heard bad things about canister filters, whats the deal with them? Also, what exactly are the perks of a sump and is it necessary? I'm also not sure what RO/DI is, can someone please explain that to me? My tank is not yet filled with water, nor have I added any crushed coral to it yet. I plan on adding live rock, which I hear is good for cycling? Basically, I'm new to sw tanks, but have been keeping fw for about 6 years now and I would like information about what I need for a healthy setup.

Thanks for reading, I look forward to meeting everyone.

you should read the helpfull artics section on this site it helped me with alot of questions and im sure will help you the bio wheels do cause excess nitrates i cant answere the one about canister filters but my lfs (live fish store) uses one on there tank one perk about the sump is you can use it for a refugium and have a deep sand bed in it for nnr (natural nitrate reduction) ro/di is reverse osmosis and deionized water it extra purified so you dont have nitrates phosphates silice or any of the other bad stuff that will cause a bad algae outbreak and l/r (liver rock) is very good for your tank its a naturale food source and a filter but i do suggest you read for a while before starting it will be worth it in the long run to have a good idea of what your doing before you do it good luck and check out the helpfull articals

Thanks for the link. I have a quick question-

should I turn off my filters/sterilizer during the time I mix the salt?