Biology Teacher, in need of advice

possumpal

Reefing newb
Hello. I am a biology teacher and I teach older students in Biology 2. We study every living thing, basically and my students are not all that interested in some of the so called "simpler" animals. Especially things that live in the ocean. I would love to have a reef tank, but I have only had freshwater fish before, and only very small set ups before. :question:

Any help that can be given would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the reef.You've come to right site for information.
Just post your questions and somebody will have the answer.

Hi and welcome! I'm a biologist myself (I have a BS and MS and am working on my PhD). You can have a pretty cool small set up, there are lots of nano tanks that have all of the equipment built in. Nanos can be a challenge to keep (there's not much room for mistakes in small systems) but would be perfect for a classroom if that's what you're looking to do.

Uhhh... ummm... Ok HI.

I tend to get nervous when talking to teachers, LOL J/K

You are with out a doubt in the right place for info, We ( most likely Bifferwine) will fight to answer your questions in a fast maner. LOL

Smaller systems tend to look Nicer, faster. but the small water amount tends to lead to problems a lil faster than in a Large tank. I suggest looking into a ALL IN ONE system , Red Sea Max (RSM ) has a Very nice all in one setup that has Everything you need to run a healthy reef,
Red Sea MAX | the first fully featured, plug-and-play reef aquarium

hello and welcome!!..i think too that having a reef tank will be very educational for the kids..good choice!!..theres a section of very usefull info for begginers..have fun!!!

I also have a biology/chemistry degree. Depending on where you live, maybe you could take a field trip to an aquarium. For instance, I belong to The Dallas World Aquarium, and that would be the best place ever for a field trip.