Blue spotted boxfish

tonymarcus1117

Reefing newb
I am new to the saltwater world just a few months I have two maroon clowns, a huma huma trigger, a niger trigger, a coral beauty and a few soft corals. Purchased a male blue spotted boxfish today from my lfs after being told it wouldn't be a problem and we could introduce him like any other fish. After doing so got online and read alot of stuff about these fish that has me a little worried. How can I tell if my other fish are poisoned? And if they are all ok should I return the fish to the store?

Well your tank is way overstocked.If you wanna have a happy tank return the boxfish and the two triggers as all three need a much larger tank.To be able to thrive without stressing from lack of room.And if you want to keep corals research and dont buy fish that eat corals or your clean up crew

Thank you for the advice both triggers are babies only about 1 1/2" and the boxfish is just barely larger. Also I will be getting a 110 gal next month so I'm not as worried about the size of the tank as I am about the possible effect the boxfish could have on my system just wondering how likely it is that it will kill everything in my tank.

Thats what I was reading and it has me worried about my other fish I think I will take him back tomorrow and give the guy at the store an earful too. Thanks for your help.

Your welcome you will find this hobby so much more enjoyable if you research all your purchases first.whether it's livestock corals or supplies.read read read .Then shop wisely. an impulse buy is not a good thing.unless you are at the fish store and you realize you need a 200 gallon tank................just kidding go slow do the research and you will be a reefer for life