Brand new 20 Gal

squibley2

Reefing newb
Brand new 20 Gal with pics

Hello everyone,

I am new to the page and to saltwater.
I set up a 20 Gal tank yesterday, I have a 130 Watt light with moon lights on the tank (12000K and blue) and the tank has about 25LBS of Live rock in it. The salt mix which was used was instant ocean, salinity is at 1.021. There is a whisper filter running with activated carbon and I am using Kent as the food for the live rock.

At this point I was just hoping for some tips on how best to proceed. I was thinking about a clownfish and maybe 2 or 3 other small fish after the tank has had about a week to get up and running with the live rock.

I have been waiting to do this for a while. I finally have it!

oh PS. I have a protein skimmer on order I should have that in a couple weeks (it is on backorder).

Last edited:
Welcome! Good luck with your tank :bounce: I'm still in the process of getting all my necessary equipment before I take that dive. You should look at aquariumgirl reef threads and get a good idea. My post is My new 29 gallon tank that has some good feedback. You could also use the "Helpful Articles" and read you are bound to find great advice and answers to some questions. If all reading fails just ask..............I always do :D By the way can you take pictures and upload them?

Yea I can probibly get some pics up in the next couple days. I am just so excited I have been doing freshwater for about a year and this is my first attempt at saltwater. With only the live rock in the tank it looks cool. There is so much stuff that is alive on in. I have no idea what it all is but it looks cool. lol

After doing some reading on live rock you may want make you didn't bring any unwanted vistors home to your 20 gallon tank. Look at "UnWanted Guest" post by "jcg432". This will help you out some. I really can't say much, but I could point you to good post that may help you out with answers :mrgreen: