Buying a cycled aquarium?

cirrus

Fish > Homework
Hello everyone,

I thought I'd start by introducing myself since this is my first post. I'm a student from UC Santa Cruz in California and I kept freshwater tanks up to 40gal off and on for years while I was growing up. One of my housemates now is a student in the Marine Bio program, and a while back the idea of setting up a reef aquarium came up. She's also had experience with freshwater tanks.

Long story short, we've done our research and we're ready to start buying the equipment to set it up. Today though we found an offer online from an aquarist here in town who is looking to sell his 55 gal 'tropical' aquarium' that's 'already cycled with all of the equipment' as a package. It caught my eye because the price is decent ($80), so I emailed him for details, and these were the specs he sent back:

- 55 gallon TruVu tank with hood and light
- Marineland Filter for up to 90gals (he didn't mention the model)
- Heater
- Nets
- Chemicals & Water conditioner

He offered to leave some water in it so I wouldn't have to cycle it again, so it's got to already have live sand and rock. No mention of fish.

So I guess my question is, is buying a already set-up tank even a good idea in the first place? And if I were to pursue this tank, what kinds of questions should I be asking to make sure it will run well?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Welcome Cirrus, one of the experts will chime in soon but I think its a decent price. There is nothing wrong with buying used stuff, just make sure you give it a good look over before buying it.

One thing to keep in mind though, your likely going to have som die off from the transport, especially if there is sand to get sloshed around.

I did the same thing last Christmas with a 24gallon tank.

Overall its worked out well, but a few issues we had,
- chiller was really undersized for the tank, so it needed to be replaced.