cal and alk

Brian_G

overly obsessed
so i have been dripping kalk for about 2 months with no problems. I had been maintaining my alk at about 9 and my cal about 450. today i tested and my alk was 10 and my cal was 350. I have no idea. even my Ph is dropped from the normal 8.2 to 8.08. ( I have a pinpoint ph hooked to my kalk reactor). Im not sure whats up.

A-is there something that will raise the ph without playing with the alk or cal?

B-any idea what might have caused the spike in alk and loss in cal with kalk?

I test mag once a month and last week it was 1560. haha

i know thats really high. i over-dosed randy holmes recipe about a month and a half ago and it was at 1700.

yipes. That could be related to your current issues. Mag, Cal, and alkalinity are all important for maintaining each other.... if one param is way off, there's a chance that the others are affected.

Let's look for other sources of problems before we assume that, though.
Increased pH might be caused by better oxygenation of your water. It's spring time,so have you just opened up your windows in the house? That would result in more oxygen in the air around your tank, which might cause a raise in pH. Also, are you measuring pH at the same time relative to your light cycle? Have you added a bunch of macro algae? These might also increase your pH.

Do you have a lot of salt creep? And, do you put it back into your water ever? If you do and you don't put it back, there's a good chance that calcium is precipitating out faster than alk, thus explaining the dip in Ca. Increase in alk could be related to kalwasser dosing...

Just throwing ideas out.

well I did just recently open my windows but I noticed no change in ph. I have a ph probe on my kalk reactor. whenever my ph drops below 8.2 it turns my kalk on to drip and when it hits 8.3 it kicks off.

so it usually drips at night.
I dont have a lot of salt creep, I try to keep it clean and definitely dont re-add it.