Calling All Fishies! hello!

DeFishy

Reefing newb
Hello all! Well, this looks like the place to be, I'm starting up a saltwater aquarium soon (in december), and I am now currently planning its occupants, setup, and general matenance. I do have experience with other fish, I have a Green Spotted Puffer, and I have several tanks with Bettas (these I'm breeding). Now, I am a beginner at saltwater aquariums, but not at fish. I've got a lot to learn, so here I am:D Ready to learn, and ready to meet all you wonderful folks:D I'll be seeing you around.

Mhm. So first question, and it's gonna sound stupid probably, but Sumps are absolutely required? My plan is a predator tank with either a shark, or an eel, or both if it possible. Keeping coral to a minimum for now until I can learn more about coral care. (I freaked when I first learned that certain corals can move) ha ha ha.
I'm starting out with a 100gal probably.

Well I wouldnt start out with an eel or shark in that sized tank. You could go sumpless but with a predator tank the extra water volume will make keeping your water parameters good easier.

Welcome to the site.

Mm, I do plan on getting a larger tank, but that will be in a few years. Right now if I had a 300gal tank it would go right through the cealing into the dining room probably (he he, dinner and a show, eh). I have looked up sharks and eels that are small, the ones I have looked at both could be in about a 100gal until full grown. I'm not gonna shove a HUGE shark into a small tank. That'd be cruel.

And thanks:D I'm glad to be here.