changes to my 180

winyfrog

Yep!
So I have been giving this tons of thought.. I would like some more opinions.

I am changing my 180 to seahorses and pipefish. I will be pulling out all of my tangs, clowns, foxface etc.

First question is this. What corals will be safe for me to keep with the horses? here is a list of what I have
Colt Coral (my favorite weed :)
frogspawn
umbrella leather
some sps
candy cane
acan
dendro
fire cracker
mushrooms

Second question. What types of horses should I keep and can I put more then one species together?

:Cheers:

I'm no expert like Catherine, but any coral with sweeper/stinging tentacles will probably need to be removed, for they will sting the tails of the ponies. And also, I believe different species of ponies can be mixed together, for they are all peaceful. Be careful with cuc...crabs and shrimp can potentially tamper with their tales, causing serious illnesses.

There are few things to consider with your tank, besides compatable corals. Sea horses dont do well alone, and for such a large tank you would have to have quite a few for them to be happy. Also, they aren't open swimmers so you will be spending lots of time looking for them in such a huge tank.

Personally, if i was were you, I would keep the 180 tank as it is and start up a smaller sea horse tank. A tall 30 gal tank would be perfect for a pair of erectus which would allow you to see them more easily and enjoy them more.

If you are serious about doing sea horses, check out seahorse.com and take Pete's lessons and seahorsesource.com is run by amazing people and seahorse.org is also an amazing place for more information and is a forum just for sea horses

Hey, Winyfrog, glad to see you've finally come to your senses and are going to become a seahorse wrangler! WooT!