Cheato in a reactor

Discussion in 'Algae' started by salt01, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. salt01

    salt01

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio,USA
    I was thinking about getting 2 550 phos reactors and putting cheato in them only and running them in series with a mp1200 pump and surround them with 6500k light. Has anyone tried this to help phosphates. My assumption would be to run a fast flow through the cheato. Any thoughts?
     
    salt01, Nov 28, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. salt01

    RockStacker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    CA-USA
    In theory it should work.
    But practicality wise, I'm not sure how chaeto would react to being cramped up inside a reactor tube.
     
    RockStacker, Nov 29, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. salt01

    2XAl Salt Addict VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    +1 it should work, why not just throw it in the sump tho? I would take the time and money and make an upflow algae scrubber.
     
    2XAl, Dec 23, 2013
    #3
  4. salt01

    salt01

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio,USA
    Well didnt work just an fyi everything but the cheato grew lol anyways back to the old way
     
    salt01, Apr 19, 2014
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.