Chem Pure Elite

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by kevinsimons, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. kevinsimons

    kevinsimons

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Check out this link:
    Marine Solutions Online Store

    Them's some mighty big claims (most especially no water changes for 5 years)...

    Any thoughts from members on this product? My specific question is:

    How long does it REALLY last before it should be replaced? I used it for about 5 weeks and changed it out to a phosphate sponge - and noticed a big difference in how quickly algae accumulated...
     
    kevinsimons, Aug 21, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kevinsimons

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I've used it with good success.
    But I changed it out every 2 weeks and still kept up with my water changes.
     
    yote, Aug 22, 2009
    #2
    kevinsimons likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. kevinsimons

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    You will still need to either do water changes to replenish the trace minerals that are used up or dose all those trace minerals which IMO would be a bigger expense and head ache than just doing the water changes

    Brian
     
    bjohanson1234, Aug 22, 2009
    #3
    kevinsimons likes this.
  4. kevinsimons

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Not to mention, ChemiPure is pretty expensive to rely on a regular basis.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 22, 2009
    #4
  5. kevinsimons

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    That stuff sounds like it's the miracle stuff we've all been looking for. No water changes NEVER and fish live longer! Wow!

    Wonder if it works on humans? I gotta get me some.
     
    dcantucson, Aug 22, 2009
    #5
  6. kevinsimons

    Ithaca9

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY USA
    Maybe I missed something... But is it an additive powder or liquid... or some type of filled pouch that you put in a filter or skimmer? Yote mentioned changing it out every two weeks, that's what's making me think it's the latter?
     
    Ithaca9, Aug 22, 2009
    #6
  7. kevinsimons

    Ithaca9

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY USA
    Also, 5 years with no water changes seems crazy. I'd want a heck of a lot more information on that "study" before I even considered the idea of skipping out on my water changes! I get fidgety when I skip just one.
     
    Ithaca9, Aug 22, 2009
    #7
  8. kevinsimons

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I think it's a solid. Like the size of carbon.
     
    dcantucson, Aug 22, 2009
    #8
  9. kevinsimons

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Its crushed carbon. I've used it for a year and its good. Despite the directions you do need to rinse it. I've wonderd if I can just take cheap carbon, crush it a little, rinse it and use that. Dr Foster Smith recommends it.
     
    sen5241b, Aug 23, 2009
    #9
  10. kevinsimons

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Well,Sen is pretty close to what Chemi-Pure Elite it.
    Its basically just crushed up carbon and granulated ferric oxide all in one pouch.And it is pretty dang expensive.
    When I used it,I'd run it for 2 weeks,then pull it out of the sump,rinse,and let it air dry.But I kept 2 pouches on hand and just swapped them out.
    Its not a cure all,but it'll help if your having phosphate problems.
     
    yote, Aug 23, 2009
    #10
  11. kevinsimons

    OmegaOmega

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I've had great success with this so far with my BioCube.

    I take a media bag and lay it over the bio-ball/gas exchange area in the back - phosphates went to zero and it helped drop my nitrates a little; the little bit of tank smell I had went away.

    Generally works 'as advertised' for me...
     
    OmegaOmega, Aug 23, 2009
    #11
  12. kevinsimons

    Zissou What about my dynamite? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Alaska
    Does this stuff come wet? I used some yesterday and the pouch was completely soaked, as if it had been used before. :grumble:
     
    Zissou, Aug 25, 2009
    #12
  13. kevinsimons

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Every time I've used it,it was packaged dry.
     
    yote, Aug 25, 2009
    #13
  14. kevinsimons

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Every time I've bought it, the package was sealed and was damp inside.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 25, 2009
    #14
  15. kevinsimons

    tankedchemist

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    A chemists' cheaper solution: buy black carbon, scrape the rust off a rusty nail, grind together in a mortar & pestle. I hate when companies charge so much for essentially common materials. However, I found on this website that the composition is carbon and ion exchange resins, which is just a piece of plastic that's capable of trading out bad ions (IE, phosphates, nitrites/nitrates, maybe copper-- but if it does copper than it'll also remove calcium and magnesium and stuff) with hydrogen, or some other "benign" ion. It's strange to me that they claim no change in pH, 'cause if you add hydrogen ion to water, it will definitely drop the pH. hmm. :scratchch

    Also, I note that they were talking about freshwater systems immediately prior to saying no water changes... probably weren't referring to saltwater systems, where the nutrients have to be replenished.
     
    tankedchemist, Aug 26, 2009
    #15
  16. kevinsimons

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Its too pricey. I'm going to try some cheaper activated carbon and crush it a little.
     
    sen5241b, Aug 27, 2009
    #16
  17. kevinsimons

    Melosu58

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    Works great as a filtration product but could never keep you from not doing PWC`s. It does nothing for adding trace elements back into the system. That`s why that claim about never having to do PWC`s will never fly.
     
    Melosu58, Aug 27, 2009
    #17
  18. kevinsimons

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    dcantucson, Aug 28, 2009
    #18
  19. kevinsimons

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ya theres a site that took one apart. Its a pvc tube with magnets taped on it. Then put inside another tube. The tape was electrical tape the tubes common pvc from home depot. Nothing else to it.
     
    Ted, Aug 28, 2009
    #19
  20. kevinsimons

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Wow! That's funny.
     
    dcantucson, Aug 28, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.