chemi pure elite ?

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by dapple, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. dapple

    dapple Salty Dog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Appalachia
    I put a bag of chemi pure elite into my system today and my water got cloudy. It was not cloudy before. I put it in my sump. It Should clear back up shouldn't it? I hope it does. All I have heard is good things about this product.
     
    dapple, Mar 9, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dapple

    JoeG

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    did you rinse it off b4 you put it in?
     
    JoeG, Mar 9, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dapple

    dapple Salty Dog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Appalachia
    I also have the media bag in a vertical position. Should it be flattened out.
     
    dapple, Mar 9, 2012
    #3
  4. dapple

    dapple Salty Dog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Appalachia
    No I didn't
     
    dapple, Mar 9, 2012
    #4
  5. dapple

    JoeG

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    that's why its cloudy you gotta rinse it until the water runs clear b4 putting it in ur system but its no big deal should clear up soon
     
    JoeG, Mar 9, 2012
    #5
    dapple likes this.
  6. dapple

    dapple Salty Dog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Appalachia
    Alright.
     
    dapple, Mar 9, 2012
    #6
  7. dapple

    felixfish newbie reefer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sullivan, IN
    I used the same stuff and think its horrible. I literaly filled up 15 gal+ of water to rinse it threw my BRS dual reactor, and the water turn very cloudy! I just unplugged my reactor for now. And kinda pissed I wasted money on it.
     
    felixfish, Mar 9, 2012
    #7
  8. dapple

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    The Chemi-Pure Elite is a decent product and will do what it says it will.BUT,it don't and never will replace a good maintenance routine.
    Be sure to completely follow the instructions on the container.If it it WILL cloud your water for a while.
     
    yote, Mar 9, 2012
    #8
    felixfish likes this.
  9. dapple

    symon_say Under the sea

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    Why not rinse before putting it in the reactor then you just have to rinse a little, and is cheaper to rinse in freshwater than saltwater, chemi pure is a good product but the GFO makes it really dirty, i rinse mine for about 5 min under running water and later put it in RO/DI water for a few minutes and dump it into the sump.
     
    symon_say, Mar 9, 2012
    #9
  10. dapple

    JoeG

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    I've never had any problems with it . it works great and last twice as long as carbon in my tank
     
    JoeG, Mar 9, 2012
    #10
  11. dapple

    dapple Salty Dog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Appalachia
    I have carbon and cpe in my sump.
     
    dapple, Mar 9, 2012
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.