Cleaner shrimp

Bifferwine

I am a girl
Okay, this sounds like a stupid question (and I feel stupid since I'm a biologist...) Do cleaner shrimp molt? I recently purchased two cleaner shrimp and this morning when I went to check the tank, there was just an "emptry" shrimp shell sitting on top of a rock. It has the antennae and claws, and legs and everything still attached, it just looks like the insides have been "sucked out".

no something ate your shrimp!
well I had put someting different.Just kidding though it molted.You should see it in couple of day after the new shell hardens up.I thought mine got munched the first time to

I got to ask and please don't take it the wrong way, but are you really a biologist? Seems that you would have learned crustacea molt there exo skeleton in order to allow them to grow somewhere along the road....

If I am not mistaken there are more than one kind of biologist. Marine biologist, environemental biologist, plant biologist, ect ect ect.

jhnrb said:
If I am not mistaken there are more than one kind of biologist. Marine biologist, environemental biologist, plant biologist, ect ect ect.

True but chapter one of any biology book is the animal kingdom hierachy.

Vertebrates - having a backbone.
Fish
Reptiles
Bird
Amphibians
Primates
Marsupials
Mammals
Etc....

Invertibrates -
Protozoa
Annelids
Mollusks
Arthropods
Crustacia - (shrimp, crabs, lobster, etc) --- The major family at question here, that are partly characterized by the fact they have an exo skeleton.
etc

Either way my comments weren't needed to address the question that was asked and I appologize for becoming one of the people that keeps me from posting activly on other forums.

However, I would suggest not mentioning your degree when posting questions like this in the future.

i have a cleaner shrimp too and i put my hand in the tank this morning and my shrimp tried to clean my fingernails i am going to have to put my hand in there more often