Clown fish emergency!

Captain Ron

Reefing newb
I am new to saltwater.

I bought a 1 inch clown fish 6 days ago. He appeared healthy and was swimming all over my tank. My tank is brand new. Dead rock became live with bacteria when tank cycled. Its 37 gallon tank and he is the only fish in there.

He never seemed to eat all that much. I fed him once a day in the evening. Fish flake food. Usually 1 large flake crumbled into smaller pieces. The second day I had him I tried feeding him 1/4 cube of frozen mysis shrimp (waiting for it to melt before introducing it to the tank) but he didn't seem to eat much of that at all. He seemed to prefer the flake food.

Last night I fed him some flake and he ate some. This morning I saw him swimming at the bottom corner of the tank. 20 minutes later I saw him floating through all around the tank including hanging out next to my mp10 powerhead. I noticed one of his gills seems purplish and he appears to have a little slime on him but not much. Now he is sitting at the bottom of the tank. What do I do?!?!

-Capt. Ron

Is he actually sitting on the bottom? Like laying on the substrate? Or his he swimming (hovering) near the bottom?

Do you have test kits to test for:

pH
ammonia
nitrite
nitrate

And what is your tank's temperature and salinity?

How did you acclimate the fish?

everything measured in last 20 minutes

ammonia not detectable
nitrite not detectable
nitrate 10-15
ph 8.0
temperature 77
salinity 1.026

While I don't measure every day, I don't think anything strayed from these parameters over the last few days other than maybe salinity going from 1.025 to 1.026 but I've had very little evaporation.

Right now he is hidding upright (proper fish orientation) at bottom back of the tank where the rock meets the gravel and not moving. It seems before he was always moving his fins 24/7.

Picture attached but its poor quality.

Attachments

• DSCF4118_640x480.jpg
    DSCF4118_640x480.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 915
Last edited: