Collection cup height

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by 2fastlx, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. 2fastlx

    2fastlx

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida Keys
    I know the exact height varies from skimmer to skimmer, but where do you guys like the level of the bubbles after putting the cup back in? Do you make it so the bubbles are around the middle of the overflow tube, up near the top so they can readily overflow, or down near the base? I havent got any real dark skimmate out of mine yet, only tan colored water with brown stuff stuck in the overflow tube. Am I putting the cup too low?
     
    2fastlx, Sep 16, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. 2fastlx

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    It could either be that your bioload is low or, your cup could be too low. Mine pulls out skimmate that looks almost black. How often are you having to empty your cup out?
     
    BL1, Sep 16, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. 2fastlx

    Chris_150G

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Crestline, CA
    I set the bubbles level to the bottom of the cup. Once the foam starts to form it will rise the rest of the way.
     
    Chris_150G, Sep 16, 2010
    #3
  4. 2fastlx

    2fastlx

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida Keys
    It did fill up once with very light tan water. The cup was probably way too low at that point, but it hasnt filled up since. I will try setting it up high and let it run its course and see what happens. I have 5 fish in the tank ut all are very small. Biggest is just over and inch. Also have a banded coral shrimp, peppermint shrimp, and an arrow crab, along with 5 snails and 2 hermits.
     
    2fastlx, Sep 16, 2010
    #4
  5. 2fastlx

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    what kind of skimmer do you have?

    How long has it been running? It can take a couple weeks to break the skimmer in.
     
    bjohanson1234, Sep 16, 2010
    #5
  6. 2fastlx

    2fastlx

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida Keys
    Its an octopus bh-100f. I had it up and running for a few weeks before it sucked up a butterfly and I dropped it trying to get him out ( hence the "incredible" thread). Its been up and running for a couple hours now so Im sure it will need to break in again.
     
    2fastlx, Sep 16, 2010
    #6
  7. 2fastlx

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    Yeah, it can take some adjusting to get the settings just right.
     
    bjohanson1234, Sep 16, 2010
    #7
  8. 2fastlx

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    It'll just take some adjusting of the cup to find a good level for you. Ive got the bh-100ss and my skimmer only took about a week to break in, then another week to find the right height for the cup. Just make sure you mark it when you find a good height.
     
    BL1, Sep 16, 2010
    #8
  9. 2fastlx

    2fastlx

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida Keys
    Thanks guys, Ill keep playing with it and see how it does. Is it possible that since all my fish are so small they just dont produce much waste?
     
    2fastlx, Sep 17, 2010
    #9
  10. 2fastlx

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I keep the water level at the bottom of the neck for a dark,drier skim.
     
    reeffreak, Sep 17, 2010
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.