Complete Newbie to SW

Vash612584

Reefing newb
Within the next two weeks i plan on purchasing a 55gal kit at walmart (which is where i work). It comes with the tank, a 30-60gal power filter, a 200watt heater, 2 hoods with lights. what all am i going to need to purchase to set this up as a fish only SW tank? I was looking at getting the salt and live sand at the local petco, and mixing the live sand with washed playsand. I know i need a marine water test kit, but unsure of anything else. I would like to add some live rock into the tank eventually but cant afford to do it at the moment.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Vash

You will need a skimmer. Play sand can cause algae outbreaks in your tank, I would stick with reef sand. You can get a 30 lb bag of dry sand and a 20 lb bag of live and you should be fine, however, if your wanting a deep sand bed you will need more sand than that. Something else you might want to look in to, is a hob refugium, you can pick one up cheap on ebay. But the main thing I would get would be a good skimmer to remove organics. When you go to buy fish after its cycled go slow and add no more than 2 fish then wait about 3 weeks to add more, also when you buy food for them go with frozen, because flakes and pellets will put phosphates in your water and also cause algae. Well good luck, welcome to living reefs and dont hesitate to ask anymore questions.

Hi and welcome to the reefs.
You know that your just getting ready to get into the addictive hobby there is right?
Forget about the play sand,I already tryed that and it didnt work.Once it had water over it looked like crap.Go ahead and invest in a 30lb bag of aragonite sand.The dry aragonite isnt that expensive,plus it works as a natural buffer to help keep your PH stable.
If I remember right I give about 15.00 bucks for 30lbs of the dry,then bought a 10lbs bag of live sand to seed it with.I think.