Complete Newbie

wakerider017

Reefing newb
Complete newbie here.

I've never owned a saltwater tank before, but I have always wanted to.

I live in Tampa & I love the ocean! I'm out diving on the local reefs weekly and if the weather is too rough i'll try and squeeze in some inshore fishing.

I figured a saltwater aquarium is a great way to take my passion home with me to enjoy.

I'd like a reef tank with live rock. They are beautiful and that is what I get to see when I am diving, so I'd like the same at home. I was figuring something around 75 gallons would be a good choice, but then again I am a newbie.

I know I'll need other equipment such as lighting, pumps, tank, etc. Advice in that department would be helpful! I've done some research online, but I've always felt talking to the guys who are passionate about it is the best way to learn.

Any thing to get me pointed in the right direction will help.

Greetings! I was a newbie a year ago (and still consider myself one) but we are glad to have new enthusiasts to the hobby.

If you haven't already the two sticky threads in this forum have a wealth of information for the beginning marine aquarist. They helped me immensely and are the perfect starting point for setting up your sw reef. These are listed below:

Do Your Research: https://www.livingreefs.com/do-your-research-first-t26793.html
Cycling A Tank: https://www.livingreefs.com/cycling-tank-adding-fish-and-corals-t26452.html

Whatever you decide on, make sure to not start too small. Keeping your water levels under control on a tank under 30G can be a nightmare for a newbie. Some of the other members of the site would be best suited to providing testimonials on brands of equipment based on their experience.

Happy reefing!