Confused about filtering options

boricuamed

Reefing newb
Hello to all:

I am a MEGA NEWBIE to anything related to fishkeeping. I have a 2 month old 55gal FW tank, and am now setting up a 30 gal SW tank. My question is: Can I just run the SW tank with just a protein skimmer and a power head (daily water change of course until cycled)? Or do I "absolutely" need some sort of additional filtering system (HOB, canister, etc.)?

My tank specs are:

30g "show" tank
Penguin Bio-Wheel 350
Berlin Air-Lift 60 protein skimmer
air pump
20 lbs of live sand
20 lbs of crushed coral (undeneath the live sand)
2 lbs of live rock
1 Damsel

Tank is 1 week old, and water parameters are: Ammonia 0.25 (after 15% w/c this morning), Nitrites 0, Nitrates 0, SG 1.023, pH 8.0 (low) 8.4 (high).

Any additional advice would be most appreciated.

p.s. Damsel and live rock are doing fine (just my point of view).

Thanks in advance... :Cheers:

Well bori I hate to be the one that brings some bad news but here we go.

1)You should not have added the damsel until the tank is cycled.
2)Doing daily water changes will be both expensive and also increase the time it takes for your tank to cycle.
3)If you are trying to do a reef tank you need a lot more live rock if your typing was correct and you have 2lbs of live rock you should have between 1 and 1.5lbs per gallon of water in the tank.
4)Why did you mix the Crushed Coral with the sand? Are you going for a sand bed or a crushed coral bed?
5)I would add a filter to the tank the type is up to you but you should have some sort of filter but don't run a filter pad all the time 1 week in 2 weeks out or so should be fine. If you leave it in you will get a huge biological filter problem and your nitrates will just go sky high.