Copepods/Refugium

WarmWaterDiver

Reefing newb
I have a well established reef tank and am thinking of starting pipefish and seahorses. I have a few questions...

Can I use a regular flourescent hooded light (like for a nano tank) to grow Chaeto in my sump??
How long do the lights need to be on for good Chaeto growth?
Is it necessary to have a sand bed in the refugium even if I have plenty of live sand in the main tank?

My main goal is to keep and cultivate copepods for my seahorses and pipefish. I have no experience with refugiums but I need a steady supply of live copepods.

I just have a desk lamp with a 60watt halagen bulb for 18 hours a day. If you have a thin layer of sand about 2 inches I think you will have better luck with them reproducing faster.

The light you mentioned will be plenty for chaeto.12-24hrs a day is what most people do.I prefer 12hrs. a day on opposite light cycle as the main tank.It helps keeping pH stable and most copepods are nocturnal.Its not necessary to have a sand bed but I recommend a deep bed for nitrate reduction and breading grounds for fauna(copepods,worms).

All I have is a little compact flourescent fixture on my sump with a few inch deep sand bed, I bought 6 oz of chaeto a month or so ago, under the 18 watt lighting its growing like mad absorbing my nutrients. I know that means I have some excess nutrients, but if everything is doing good and i'm not having algae problems in my display any more thats fine right? I'm thinking about throwing some handfulls of chaeto on ebay soon..

All I have is a little compact flourescent fixture on my sump with a few inch deep sand bed, I bought 6 oz of chaeto a month or so ago, under the 18 watt lighting its growing like mad absorbing my nutrients. I know that means I have some excess nutrients, but if everything is doing good and i'm not having algae problems in my display any more thats fine right? I'm thinking about throwing some handfulls of chaeto on ebay soon..