Coral help!

dragonet123

Reefing newb
Hi. I am new to coral keeping, so I need some help. I know corals need calcium, strontium and other trace elements. I have been using regular instant ocean salt, but I have found that Instant Ocean reef crystals has all of these elements. Can I switch salt brands without it killing my fish. Also, I was planning on getting LPS hard corals and polyps. Can these two different species of corals live together? Finally, how do I acclimate corals?

Thanks!

yes you can switch salts, just make sure you mix at least 24 hours before WC's...LPS hard coral and polyps can go together but ensure they have ample space between them so they don't sting each other (some LPS like hammer/frogspawn can use a 6 inch sweeper tentacle so adjust accordingly)

acclimation is all personal preference but this is how I do it...I float them in the tank to temp acclimate for about 15 minutes, then I drip acclimate them for 30 minutes or until the salinity is spot on, finally I dip them with a coral cleanser like Revive

you can youtube how to drip acclimate corals, fish etc...there are some good videos out there

if you want to keep coral I would suggest getting a refractometer to measure salinity (should be 1.024-1.026 for a reef) and some testing equipment for calcium, alkalinity and magnesium

I'm not disagreeing here. Just curious as to why you should let your newly mixed saltwater sit for 24 hrs? Is it so the pH can stabilize? I ask because I think out of all my water changes I've maybe done this once. I normally mix it to the specific gravity I'm looking for. Heat it to match my tank water the test the salinity again. Usually an hr or so. If there's something I'm missing in this method I'd love to know to change my process. Thanks!

I do it to ensure the salt has mixed completely...sometimes i still se salt in the bottom of my container 4 hours after I added it