couple questions for all you experts

salt newbie01

Reefing newb
I got a chalice coral in the order that came in saturday. Do these corals need to be target fed? If not how do they get their nutrients?

My other question is more of a situation. I can not seem to get rid of "film" algae that gets on my glass. This algae comes and goes. I may have to run the magfloat over my front glass every day or I may be able to skip a couple days. And then today I did it about 11 am and by 7:30pm I needed to do it again! I mean it's not so thick that you can't see through but you can tell it's there. I can't understand out why it is so irregular. I have been using ro/di water for a couple months now for top off and 10% water changes approx every 2 weeks. My phosphates read between 0-.05. Then to top it off, over the last couple weeks I have noticed some small places of hair algae forming on my rocks. :grumble: Needless to say this is frustrating. I had noticed some hair algae on the emperor 400 and on the skimmer where water reenters the tank but it had never been in the tank. I guess I always thought if I kept my phosphates under control I wouldn't have an algae problem. And my yellow tang has not seemed to notice the hair algae yet. I hope if he notices the algae he will consume it. Do any of you guys have any ideas for me???? :frustrat: :grumble: :grumble: :frustrat:

Tested my water today
Nitrate/nitrite 0
ammonia 0
phosphate 0-.05
ph 8.2
calcium 500
temp 80

What kinda water flow do you have? If it is between 0 and .05 and not 0 I would run some type of phosphate removal media.

.03 and above = algea

Not saying that is the golden key, but would be where I started based on the info you provided.

If you really wanted to get confused, host a meeting and 10 people will show up and give you 13 different answers. :mrgreen: