Cyano bacteria everywhere!

Discussion in 'Algae' started by SwimsWithFishes, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. SwimsWithFishes

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,847
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    No amount of blackouts are going to fix this issue. Also, your water parameters can not be "spot on" if you are experiencing an issue like this. The Cyano needs nutrients, and is getting them form something in your water column. You obviously have a phosphate issue. So you need to look at everything that goes into your tank, from food to top off water, to clean salt water during water changes. Find that source, fix it, and your tank will improve.
     
    fastrd400, Mar 9, 2012
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. SwimsWithFishes

    saline Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Piqua,Ohio
    Phosphates-0. Two different test kits.
    Nitrate-0
    Don't know what it could've been feeding on?
     
    saline, Mar 10, 2012
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. SwimsWithFishes

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    The cyano is using up the nitrates and phosphates, which makes it look like your parameters are spot on, but they actually arent.
     
    little_fish, Mar 10, 2012
    #23
  4. SwimsWithFishes

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    I've eliminated cyno using phosphate media only.
     
    sen5241b, Mar 10, 2012
    #24
  5. SwimsWithFishes

    saline Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Piqua,Ohio
    So how would you test to find out what the cause was?
     
    saline, Mar 11, 2012
    #25
  6. SwimsWithFishes

    saline Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Piqua,Ohio
    I even tried Chemi Pure,Poly Filter, and carbon at different times to no avail.Cut back food,blackouts for days,nothing seemed to work. Chemi Clean did, wasn't really going for a quick fix,just was at the end of my rope in eliminations.
     
    saline, Mar 11, 2012
    #26
  7. SwimsWithFishes

    saline Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Piqua,Ohio
    I was cleaning it off every thing daily. It's been a couple weeks now and its perfectly clear. I haven't changed a thing I was doing from before, so? Weird.
     
    saline, Mar 11, 2012
    #27
  8. SwimsWithFishes

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Try phosban
     
    sen5241b, Mar 11, 2012
    #28
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.